Team East Wins the CCO U-16 Ontario Championship

Cricket Council of Ontario (CCO) successfully completed the 2015 U-16 Ontario championship event at Centennial Cricket Ground in Etobicoke. Tournament was held from July 2-8, 2015 at Ross Lord Park and Centennial Cricket ground.

Fifty four (54) prospects were selected from the open trials and CCO High performance camp which was held in late June, 2015. Players were placed on the 4 regional teams, East, West, North and South.
Team East tops the standing at the end of the round robin matches and south finish second (2nd). The Gold Medal match was played between Team East and Team South. While Team North and Teas West played for Bronze Medal.

In the final at Centennial Park Ground-A, Team East won the Toss and chose to bat first. Team East struggle to make runs. Maahil Arshed made the fine 50; he was well supported by Aaron Alexander (22) help the team reach 105 runs in 40 overs. Kevin Gilotra was the main wicket taker with 4/34, while Amandeep Pabla and Dipesh Bhatt chipped in with 2 wickets each.

Team South started off well but could not sustain pressure bowling spell from Harmanjeet Singh Bedi, who took 5 wickets for only 15 runs to help Team East Win the gold medal.
In the Bronze Medal game, Team North won the toss and elected to field first. Team west made 107 runs in 35.3 overs. Nikhil Sharma was the top scorer with 37 runs and Muhammed Abubaker, Rahmankhan pathan and Ravi Sandhu contributed 17, 13, 10 runs respectively. Aayusg Patel and Aran Pathamanathan took 2 wickets each

Team North chased out the target in 38.3 over with 6 wickets in hand, Bhavindu Adhihetty and Eshan Sensarma were the top scorers with 35 and 29 runs respectively. Ebaduddin Mohammed and Zargham Nasir took 2 wickets each.

Tournament individual performance awards winners:

Best Batsman: Muhammad Abubaker (108 Runs)
Highest Score in a Match: Maahil Arshad (50 Runs)
Best Fast Bowler: Bhavindu Adhihetty (10 Wickets)
Best Spin Bowler: Dipesh Bhatt (13 Wickets)
Best Figure in a match (Wickets/Runs): Harmanjeet Singh Bedi (5/15 in the final)
Best Fielder (selected by coaches): Achini Perera
Best Wicketkeeper: Muhammad Adil
Tournament MVP: Bhavindu Adhihetty

CCO is proud to recognize and thank our sponsor of the tournament.

Toronto District Cricket Association
Brampton & Etobicoke District Cricket League
Hamilton & District Crikcet League
YASHI Sports,

Click on the link below to view tournament updates as it happens on”


by: shah Zafar